The City Council is the City's legislative and policy-making body. Composed of four members, the City Council is elected from the City on a non-partisan basis to serve overlapping four-year terms. The Mayor is elected at-large to serve a four-year term as the officer who presides over City Council meetings and as the official head of the City for legislative and ceremonial purposes.

Acting as a whole, the City Council is responsible for passing ordinances and orders necessary for governing the City, setting budgets and determining the direction of City policy. The City Administrator is responsible for the overall administration of the City, including implementation of the general policies set by the City Council in addition to day-to-day oversight of all City operations. The City Administrator, with the help of City staff, provides the City Council with the information needed to fulfill its policy-making role.

The Mayor / Council / Administrator form of government separates legislative and executive responsibilities in a manner similar to both state and federal governments. This system provides "checks and balances" of both policy and administrative branches of government by limiting the power of each.

The City Council typically holds two official meetings per month, at 7:30 p.m. on the first and third Wednesday, in the City Council Chamber at City Hall (please note that only one meeting is usually held in either July or August to accommodate budget meetings). In addition, an Open Forum is held at 7:15 p.m. People whom wish to directly address the Council on subjects that are not a part of the regular meeting may do so during Open Forum. From time to time, the City Council holds special meetings at other than regular times.

City Council Agendas, Minutes and Packets
City Council Agendas, Minutes and Packets for council meetings are available here. Please note, City Council Minutes for a meeting are not posted immediately following that meeting. They must be drafted and submitted at a future City Council Meeting for approval before they are posted.

Cottage Grove City Council

Top: Council Member Derrick Lehrke, Mayor Myron Bailey, Council Member Jen Peterson
Bottom: Council Member Justin Olsen and Council Member Dave Thiede







Submit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google BookmarksSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn